My bad, my bad! I posted this on the wrong blog, don’t worry I’ve already deleted it.

Moving on.

I would have posted more but we moved into a new apartment and had to wait on cable/internet, which is still giving me problems.Still, I’m  on now, so that counts.

One of the bonuses of baby wearing while moving has got to be that it doesn’t take up precious van space a stroller ordinarily would. Which is great because our stroller is currently residing at my husband’s parents’ house. We brought along our crib mainly to keep appearances and because it’ll become a very fine full-size bed for when Millie is ready. But mostly I was happy to be freed from so much stuff, baby stuff in particular.

We don’t really think about how much stuff we accumulate until we have to move it all. I had a bath seat, a bouncer, a swing, a stationary walker, a pack n play, crib, bassinet, two high chairs, a baby bathtub, a travel system, countless receiving blankets, and tons of pacifiers and baby clothes in size 0-3 months. I hardly used any of them although well-meaning relatives love giving out blankets and clothes. I didn’t register for a single article of clothing but I wound up with more outfits for Millie than I could handle.

If I could go back this would be my registry wishlist:

1 Maya ring sling

1 Action Baby Carrier

bed rails

1 car seat

1 extra car seat base

1 portable highchair

12-24 cloth diapers (I’m loving the Bum Genius 4.0 all-in-one diapers)

10 White organic cotton onesies

7 white organic cotton sleepers

1 amber teething necklace

10 white organic cotton hats

1 receiving blanket

1 thick blanket

1 boppy nursing pillow

1 double electric medela pump in style

1 hands free pumping bra

organic bath products

That’s it. No fancy outfits (When it came to her precious heirloom christening gown, Millie communicated this to me: “Frankly Ma, I don’t give a damn.” I won’t tell you precisely what she did to it, but the cleaners took most of the stain off.) no gizmos or gadgets. because babies are not impressed by the awesome technology or whether their swaddling clothes match the crib set. The thing baby needs most is the loving strength of their parents’ arms and the nourishment only a mother can supply. As I write, my baby lies peacefully in my arms because she will settle for nothing less.